Rhyl FC
Rhyl FC
The Lilywhites
Rhyl FC
Cefn Druids

Home | 04 February 2017 | Attendance: 274

Match Report

It was a bad day at the office for the Lilywhites as this season's jinx against Cefn Druids continued with the visitors picking up their third victory against the Lilywhites.  The first 30 minutes was notable only for the lack of clear chances either side created and effectively the first effort in earnest opened the scoring. A Druids corner found Adam Hesp at the far post who was able to convert from close range. 

However instead of coming to life going a goal down the Lilywhites slumber continued and poor defensive work down the Rhyl right enabled Mike Pritchard to set up Ashley Ruane and once again the ex Lilywhite livewire tormented his former fans as his shot flew into the net past Lavercombe to put the Druids two nil up.

Niall McGuinness rung the changes at half time replacing Aaron Simpson and Steve Lewis with new signings Chris Rimmer and Josh Davies replacing them and gradually the changes seemed to spur the hosts into life.  Their first shot on target came in the 57th minute as Josh Davies broke into the box but Druids keeper Michael Jones was equal to the challenge with a comfortable save.  The hosts had a range of corners as they began to place pressure on the visitors but they were unable to create anything from them. A shot from outside the box by Alex Jones was met by their keeper and in the last ten minutes headers from Sharples, Rimmer and Abraham were denied by Michael Jones to ensure the visitors kept a clean sheet and claimed all three points.

The result puts the Lilywhites into the relegation zone for the first time since the start of the season in August and puts into focus the challenge ahead for Niall McGuinness over the remaining 9 matches.

Match Photo's

Match Stats

Starting Line Up

Dan Lavercombe
Aaron Simpson (45')
Mike Sharples
Tom Hartley
Stefan Halewood
Jack Abraham
Ashley Young
Alex Jones
Sion Edwards
Toby Jones (65')
Steve Lewis (45')


Rory Crowther
Chris Rimmer (45')
Zyaac Edwards
Chris Durkin
Iwan Murray
Christian Langos (65')
Josh Davies (45')