Rhyl FC
Rhyl FC
The Lilywhites

Rhyl FC 3 - 2 Caersws

Away | 18 November 2017 | Attendance: 122

For the second consecutive Saturday the Lilywhites left it late to claim the three points as Tom Rowlands won the game for Rhyl with a sublime winner.

The build up to the game saw Rory Crowther injured late in the week and efforts to secure an emergency signing fell through. With no recognised keeper Mark Connolly stepped up and put on the keepers shirt.

Connolly was quickly called into action saving well in the second minute as the away team began to take control. Most of the chances came through the work of Danny Holland down the right backed up by Jason Jeffries. Alex Titchiner failed to connect to a cross from the right then a Phil Marsh shot from a similar cross went narrowly over.

The scoring started when a Rhyl shot was blocked by a Caersws defender and the referee pointed to the spot. Stewart Carroll stepped and coolly finished to put the Lilywhites ahead. The lead was short-lived however. A through ball split the defence and Craig Harris finished past Connolly.

The Lilywhites retook the lead on the stroke of half time. Danny Holland was able to latch on to a defence splitting pass and from an acute angle close to the goal line was able to pass the ball into the net.

The second half started in disappointing fashion as Rhyl failed to clear after Caersws pressure leaving Elliott Jones to grab the equaliser in the 47th minute.

Neither side were able to create clear cut chances, Tony Davies going close twice before the decisive moment. Sub Tom Rowlands was found in space and he was able to provide a sublime finish lifting the ball over the keeper and into the back of the net to spark wild celebrations between fans and players.



Starting Line Up

James Brewerton
Tony Davies
Jason Jeffries
Gerwyn Jones
Jordan Barrow
Stewart Carroll
Mark Connolly
Danny Holland
Phil Marsh
Alex Titchiner
Tom Walsh


Sam Downey
Tom Rowlands
Diego Alvarado