Rhyl FC
Rhyl FC
The Lilywhites
Rhyl FC
The New Saints

Away | 28 August 2016

Match Report

Rhyl were put to the sword by a dominant The New Saints performance as they crashed to their record Dafabet Welsh Premier League defeat. From the start TNS took control and after 5 minutes of domination Aeron Edwards scored. They doubled their advantage after 15 minutes with Scott Quigley netting from close range and then seven minutes later a defensive error presented the ball to Simon Spender and the full back marched forward with a classy finish to put the hosts 3-0 up.

A free kick was awarded to TNS on the edge of the box in the 28th minute and they made this opportunity pay as Chris Marriott placed the ball into the back of the net past a despairing Owen Evans. Rhyl were creating little and their best chance of the half was when a strong shot from 30 yards away from James Bell was saved by Paul Harrison in the TNS goal. Almost straight from this TNS attacked and Scott Quigley was on hand again in the 39th minute to stretch TNS’s advantage.

Any thoughts that TNS would ease off in the second half were dismissed as Simon Spender narrowly missed and then in the 50th minute Ryan Brobbel got the Champions sixth of the afternoon. As the half went on Rhyl began to make more of a match of the occasion with Toby Jones and Zyaac Edwards going close but as the match drew to a close the difference in fitness told as the full timers scored 4 more in the last 10 minutes.

Sub Greg Draper made it 7 in the 80th minute and then to compound Rhyl’s misfortune, captain Stefan Halewood went down with what looked like a hamstring pull and the Lilywhites were down to 10 for the last 7 minutes.

TNS got their 8th with a Greg Draper glancing header and TNS debutant go in on the act with a cool finish on the 90th minute. Sub Draper completed his hat-trick in injury time as the Lilywhites defence was completely absent leaving the striker to walk the ball into the net to complete a miserable afternoon for them.

Match Photos courtesy of www.kevinspictures.co.uk

Match Photo's

Match Stats

Starting Line Up

Owen Evans
James Brewerton
Stefan Halewood
Tom Hartley
Kieran Hilditch (30')
Dan Collins
Alex Jones
James Bell (66')
Zyaac Edwards
Toby Jones
Carl Lamb


Rory Crowther
Luke Fitzpatrick
Rob Hughes (30')
Rakim Newton (66')
Ryan Jones (45')
Oliver Buckley