Rhyl FC
Rhyl FC
The Lilywhites
Rhyl FC

Home | 10 December 2016 | Attendance: 271

Match Report

A hectic game at the Corbett Sports Stadium saw a nine man Rhyl side eventually fall to a 3-1 defeat to Newtown in a game that saw three red cards.

An early goal for Jason Oswell gave the visitors the lead before Ryan Kershaw doubled their advantage in the second half. A crazy 30 minute spell then saw three players sent off and two more goals as Newtown eventually claim all three points.

A good start from Newtown was rewarded in the 22nd minute as Jason Oswell bundled a header over the line from a corner.

The visitor's had twice forced Owen Evans into a good save early on in the match and it took going behind for Rhyl to pick up their intensity - Toby Jones going close with a low shot before Pierce and Edwards spurned two chances from close range at the end of the half.

 The Lilywhites pressed harder in the second half but were left vulnerable to counter attacks; which Newtown took full advantage of as Ryan Kershaw finished off a quick breakaway with a low shot into the bottom corner.

A glimmer of hope then presented itself as Jamie Price was sent off after an incident with Rob Hughes - the drama didn't stop there though as Rob Hughes was also given his marching orders just 15 minutes later following a coming together.

With both sides reduced to 10 men, Rhyl pulled a goal back - Rio Ahmadi heading in from close range after Lamb had headed the ball back across the face of goal.

All hope diminished however when Zyaac Edwards was shown red after another coming together of players.

With a man advantage, Newtown made the game safe deep into stoppage time when, 1 on 1, Andy Jones slotted the ball past the keeper and low into the goal.


Photos courtesy of www.chestertonphotography.co.uk

Match Photo's

Match Stats

Starting Line Up

Owen Evans
Stefan Halewood
Aaron Simpson
Mike Sharples
Tom Hartley
James Bell
Zyaac Edwards
Kristian Pierce (72')
Rob Hughes
Carl Lamb
Toby Jones (72')


Rory Crowther
Luke Fitzpatrick
Dan Collins
Jordan Miller (72')
Oliver Buckley
Porya Ahmadi (72')