Rhyl FC
Rhyl FC
The Lilywhites
Rhyl FC
gap Connahs Quay

Away | 25 October 2016

Match Report

Rhyl went out of the Nathaniel MG Cup in tonights keenly contested Quarter Final clash at the Deeside Stadium.

The hosts started the brightest with keeper Owen Evans called into action to keep the visitors in the game.  After 15 minutes Rhyl created their first proper opportunity but Rob Hughes effort was saved by John Danby.  The game changed when in the 17th minute a cross into the Rhyl box wasn't dealt with by Evans and the ball fell to Les Davies who bundled the ball home to give the hosts a deserved lead.

 As the match progressed Rhyl grew in confidence and began to create chances but in the 34th minute Jordan Miller was adjudged to have held Skelton Payne in the penalty area and referee Iwan Griffith pointed to the spot.  Skelton Payne converted the penalty to put the hosts 2 - 0 up. Rhyl's best moment of play saw Toby Jones create space on the Rhyl left and fired in a cross but Rob Hughes failed to test Danby in the Nomads goal to leave the hosts 2-0 up at half time.

The visitors started the second half much stronger and were back in the match after 5 minutes of the half following good work by Rob Hughes down the Rhyl right and the resultant cross created confusion in the area and Wes Baynes put the ball into his own net to make the score 2-1. Over the next few minutes Rhyl had the bulk of the possession but were unable to create clear cut opportunities.  Nomads should have restored their 2 goal advantage after 60 minutes but they failed to somehow score in a goal mouth scramble and then the dangerous Les Davies headed over. 

In the last 30 minutes Rhyl sought to claim the equaliser but were unable to create the chance to bring them back into the match with the hosts going through to meet TNS in the semi final.

Photo courtesy of NCM Media

Match Photo's

Match Stats

Starting Line Up

Owen Evans
James Brewerton
Stefan Halewood
Tom Hartley
Dan Collins
Kristian Pierce (70')
Rob Hughes
Jordan Miller
Toby Jones
Oliver Buckley (60')
Porya Ahmadi (87')


Rory Crowther
Zyaac Edwards (70')
Rakim Newton
Carl Lamb (60')